Official + press5 min readLast updated: September 28, 2026

Does Control Resonant Use Denuvo?

A dated answer on third-party DRM that separates what the stores disclose, what the press has reported and what is still unconfirmed.

Short answer

Not confirmed for the released game, but nothing so far points to Denuvo. The Steam store page (last loaded September 24, 2026, after launch) and Remedy’s launch posts disclose no Denuvo or other third-party DRM, and press reports say the leaked pre-load build had none. Nobody has published a check of the retail build, and at our September 28 re-check we could not load the Steam or Epic Games Store pages.

A city street folds around an illuminated urban canyon
A city street folds around an illuminated urban canyon. Official CONTROL Resonant screenshot.© Remedy Entertainment · Source: PlayStation Blog · Original image

Evidence at a glance

SourceWhat we foundEvidence typeLinkChecked
Steam store pageNo "Incorporates 3rd-party DRM" line, and no DRM notice in Steam’s store data, at our last successful load after launch. The September 28 re-check could not reach the page.Store disclosure: Denuvo not disclosedSteam store pageSep 24, 2026, 14:19 UTC; re-check failed Sep 28
Epic Games StoreThe store page refused our automated check on both datesUnverifiedEpic listingSep 24 and Sep 28, 2026 (both failed)
Remedy (official)The June launch announcement and the September 24 “CONTROL Resonant is Out Now” post say nothing about DRM or Denuvo. controlgame.com said nothing on September 24; on September 28 our check only reached its cookie page.No official statementOut Now post, launch announcement, Remedy newsSep 28, 2026
Press, before launchGameGPU and Destructoid (both September 23) report that the leaked pre-load build had no Denuvo; Destructoid says it used only Steam’s and Epic’s built-in DRMMedia report on a pre-release buildGameGPU, DestructoidSep 28, 2026
Press, after launchSportskeeda (September 24, 15:15 GMT) says the game has no Denuvo; its only stated basis is the missing notice on the Steam pageMedia report based on the store pageSportskeedaSep 28, 2026
PCGamingWikiCommunity-edited, last edited September 27. Lists the DRM as “unknown” for Steam, Epic and the Microsoft Store, and does not mention DenuvoCommunity database, not a verificationPCGamingWikiSep 28, 2026
Retail release buildNo outlet or database we found has examined the released buildNot confirmedNone foundSep 28, 2026
GOGNo listing in a GOG catalog search; PCGamingWiki’s store list has no GOG entry either. Our September 28 GOG check could not connect.No GOG listing foundGOG catalogSep 24, 2026, 13:19 UTC

The September 28 re-check ran between 02:47 and 02:51 UTC. The evidence types are kept apart on purpose: a store page that does not disclose Denuvo, a press report about one build and a community database entry are all weaker than a confirmed check of the released game, and nothing in the table is that yet.

We do not state that Control Resonant is Denuvo-free, and we do not repeat unsourced claims that it has been added. Sources we could not load are marked as such rather than assumed unchanged. DRM can change in a later patch, so treat this as a dated state, not a permanent answer.

What the store page actually shows

Steam has a dedicated disclosure line for third-party DRM, shown beneath the purchase options as "Incorporates 3rd-party DRM" followed by the product, such as Denuvo Anti-tamper. On the Control Resonant page, at our last successful load on September 24, 2026, that line was not present, and the page did not mention Denuvo or anti-tamper anywhere.

That tells you Denuvo is not disclosed. It does not by itself prove the shipped build has none: the line is filled in by the publisher, and it can change with a later update.

Steam DRM and Denuvo are not the same thing. Steam’s own copy protection and Denuvo Anti-Tamper are different things; Denuvo is a separate third-party product that Steam shows on its disclosure line when the publisher declares it. A missing Denuvo disclosure on the store page tells you nothing about which, if any, Steam-level protection the game uses, and we have not verified that either.

What the leak reports do and do not show

On September 23, 2026, a day before the 2:00 PM GMT launch (see Control Resonant release date and unlock times), GameGPU reported that the PC pre-load files had leaked and been cracked, attributing the speed to "the complete absence of Denuvo Anti-Tamper" in that build. Destructoid reported the same day that the build used only Steam’s and Epic’s built-in DRM, and TheGamer reported the pre-launch crack.

This is press reporting about a pre-release build. We have not examined those files and will not, Remedy has not commented, and the release build or a patch could differ. The post-launch Sportskeeda report adds no new evidence: it reads the same Steam page described above.

What the first Control tells you

The original Control launched without Denuvo anti-tamper: DSOGaming confirmed this on launch day in August 2019. That is a precedent for the studio, not evidence about Control Resonant’s build.

Remedy self-publishes Resonant, so the DRM decision sits with the studio rather than an external publisher, and it has said nothing on the record either way. Publishers have added anti-tamper late in the cycle before.

How to verify it yourself

  • Open the Steam store page and look beneath the purchase options for a line reading "Incorporates 3rd-party DRM".
  • Check the Epic Games Store listing the same way if you plan to buy there.
  • Look for dated reports from outlets that examined the released build rather than pre-release files.

Doing this takes under a minute and gives you a current answer, which matters more than any article — including this one — for a value that can change with a patch.

What the PC version does require

Three concerns usually sit behind the Denuvo question: frame-rate cost, machine activation limits and offline play. None of these has been measured or confirmed for Control Resonant in the sources we checked, and we have not tested them ourselves.

The Steam page lists single-player with Steam Achievements, Trading Cards, Cloud saves and Family Sharing, and it does not list an online requirement for the campaign; we have not tested offline play. The heavier constraints are hardware ones: 16 GB of RAM and 120 GB of SSD space at every spec tier; Control Resonant System Requirements has the full table.

Remedy’s six spec tiers all assume upscaling, and the PC build reviewed at 83 on Metacritic across 34 reviews, with reviewers reporting solid performance provided an upscaler is enabled.

Where you can buy the PC version

No DRM-free version has been found. Remedy lists Steam and the Epic Games Store as the PC storefronts, and a GOG catalog search on September 24, 2026 returned no Control Resonant listing. Whether a DRM-free version exists or will exist is not confirmed either way.

  • Steam — $59.99 Standard, $69.99 Deluxe, plus The Siblings Collection bundle at $98.98. No third-party DRM disclosed at our last successful check; see Control Resonant on Steam for the listing details.
  • Epic Games Store — same prices, plus the Dylan Faden Outfit in Fortnite. DRM disclosure not verified.
  • GOG — no listing found.
  • GeForce NOW — supported at launch. Cloud play runs the game on remote hardware, so any local DRM behaviour is not on your machine, but it is not a DRM-free copy.

Two questions usually travel with this one. The game is not on Game Pass as a confirmed day-one release, and every storefront lists it at full price. The cheaper route is the NVIDIA RTX 50 Series bundle, which gives the Steam copy away with select 5070-and-above hardware bought between August 25 and September 29, 2026.

Sources